The 2018 Winter Olympics begin on February 9th in PyeongChang, South Korea with the opening ceremonies. The opening ceremony is always very colorful as each country walks into the arena including Team USA. This year's Team USA features 9 Olympic athletes from the State of Illinois.  Five women and 4 men from Illinois will be wearing the red, white and blue as they compete for the gold.

Representing Illinois are;

Aja Evans of Chicago (Women's Bobsled)

Alexa Scimeca Knierim of Addison (Woman's Figure Skating)

Bradie Tennell of Carpentersville (Women's Figure Skating)

Kendall Coyne of Palos Heights (Women's Ice Hockey)

Lana Gehring of Glenview (Woman's Short Track Speedskating)

Shani Davis of Chicago (Men's Long Track Speedskating)

Brian Hansen of Glenview (Men's Long Track Speedskating)

Emery Lehman of Oak Park (Men's Long Track Speedskating)

Michael Glasder of Cary (Men's Ski Jumping)

Surprisingly, there currently are no members of the U.S. Olympic Team from Missouri or Iowa.