St. Mary Hospital Building Demolition Underway
This might be the last few days to get a glimpse of what was once a vibrant St. Mary Hospital in Quincy. Demolition crews have begun the process of tearing down the multi-story facility from 14th to 16th streets between Broadway and Vermont streets. The hospital was founded by the Franciscan Sisters of the Poor and the dedication of the facility took place in 1867. The facility expanded over the years into the 2 blocks it stands at today. The hospital operated under the name of St. Mary until it was purchased by Blessing Hospital in 1993.
For many in this area, St. Mary Hospital has significance in that they were born there. In a few days only memories and photos of the place will be all they will have left. One thing for sure is that the landscape of Broadway will certainly be changed once the demolition is completed.